Fitness Prep

From the groups I joined, I knew that I wouldn’t be able to use my abdominal muscles at all during recovery because everyone was saying that their abs hurt. That means that I’d have to rely on my arms and legs to get in and out of bed, get up from chairs, etc.

So, with my trainer, we worked a lot on improving my

  • triceps: head smashers, tricep dips
  • chest: pushups, chest flys, chest press
  • shoulders: military press
  • back: rows
  • legs: squats, downward dog (hamstrings), stretching (for flexibility)
  • core muscles: crunches, side planks, planks

Equipment:

  • dumbbells: 2#-8#
  • medicine ball: 8#
  • bosu ball
  • exercise ball
  • exercise bands

On my own, I did 25 minutes of cardio on my elliptical every day (or as often as I could) and tried to get my heart rate up to 140-150 bpm. However, the days leading up to my surgery, I was swamped getting my home ready and prepping for work since I’d be working from home for 6 weeks.  So I did what I could.

 

