Day 4 – Christmas Eve in Bed

My boyfriend came over Christmas eve (to relieve my mom from taking care of me) and we just laid in bed and watched TV which was really nice. However, I was still in a lot of pain and hated getting up out of bed to go to the bathroom because I couldn’t yet figure out how to push with my feet (my sheets are really slippery) and had a hard time pushing the top portion of my body up with my arms without twisting my abs.

That morning, my lower abs were really swollen and numb. There was also one point in the afternoon where I was in so much pain walking to the bathroom where each step hurt and it felt like someone was stabbing me with 10 knives.

The nurses told me that I should be getting up and walking every hour and I was told that the more that you walk, the better it’ll be, but it was the opposite for me. The more that I walked, the more painful everything was. So I thought that my pain would never subside and I couldn’t notice any difference from the day before so I felt really discouraged.

From my Google search, the pain was from where the doctor dissected the tissue and my nerves were freaking out from the trauma of the surgery. Apparently it’s supposed to take months for nerves to heal so I was really bummed.

However, we had a yummy Christmas Eve dinner which was pot roast, biscuits and dessert was coconut cake.

 

