Venturing Outside After 2 Weeks

Here I am, 2 weeks + 4 days after my operation and I wanted to try to venture outside. I’m able to walk a little faster, stand longer, but I still walk a little hunched because I’m worried that if I stand up straight, the wound might tear open…which I know, is ridiculous, but having been stuck in bed or on the couch for 2 weeks, it’ll take some time to get used to standing up.

My boyfriend and I went out to breakfast and ran some errands. I actually wanted to go to a hardware store and get a grabber tool so we went to Harbor Freight and I got this tool for $2.99 and I absolutely love it!

We ran a couple more errands and I had to rest a couple of times and near the end, I just sat in the car while he went inside the store.

The result of around 2-3 hours of standing, walking, getting in/out of the car:

  • Swelly belly, which I iced with an ice pack when I got home
  • Incision started to feel sore
  • Discomfort having to go poop

Still, I’m happy that I was able to go outside around town.  We’ll see how it goes the next time which will be my 3-week post-op appointment.

 

