Week 5: Post-op Light Lifting

After getting sore last week, I decided to take it easy with the lifting and exercise.  I went out on Saturday to run some errands and a couple of hours later, I was feeling quite sore (like week 3-4 soreness).

I still tried to stretch my muscles by not using weights and did 3 sets of 15.

  • Bicep curls  –  Flex biceps and curl. Don’t bend wrists while “lifting”
  • Tricep Dips – Sit in a chair with arm rests. Push yourself up and slowly let yourself back down.
  • Shoulder press – Put arms up like a football goal post and raise them above head. Last week, I couldn’t raise them up that high without feeling tightness so I just did little pulses.  I still felt it though.
  • Chest press (standing) – Put your arms straight out and move them in to where you’re clapping your hands in front (tighten chest muscles).

This week, I was able to use 5# weights, but I had to be very careful lifting. I also leaned against the wall for additional support. I did 3 sets of 12.

  • Bicep curls
  • Shoulder press
  • Tricep backup kickback
  • Bent over back flys
  • Dead lifts
  • Chest press (standing) with no weights (like above)
