Recap: 1st week Back at Work

Last week was my first week back at work. My co-workers were really happy to see me and I was glad to have someone else to talk to other than my mom and my nieces and nephews who came to visit.

I was worried about what I could wear because for the 6 weeks I was working from home, I was wearing loose clothing like sweats and tee shirts. I opted for sundresses, sweaters and scarves which helped a lot.  Near the end of the week, I wore my khaki pants, but kept the belt loop loose.

At work, I started a walking group where we take walks around the block 1-2 times a day. I noticed that I had to take smaller steps because I would get sore by the afternoon walk.

Exercising

Luckily, I don’t have a swelly belly! Still, the soreness keeps me from doing cardio workouts which I really want to do.  Instead, I’ve been lifting weights – working on my upper and lower body with shoulder presses, bicep curls, triceps, back, chest, squats, lunges and wall sits.

What worked well for me is popping in my P90X workout videos. I’m DEFINITELY not fit, but I like having the videos to set the pace and I keep track of what muscles I’m working on.

I still can’t do any ab exercises without my incision area feeling very sore so I’m holding off on that for now. What I do instead is lean up against the wall and do standing crunches.

Diet

I’m still on the meal plan my trainer gave me, which is mostly fish and chicken. I do sneak in some snacks here and there, but I try to make sure I’m eating a lot of protein and make EXTRA sure to keep track of my portions. That makes a big deal for weight loss.

Right now, I’m around 158 pounds (I was 163 before my surgery).  I’m also trying to drink lots of water (8-8oz. cups a day).  So far, so good!

