Crustless Egg Frittata

I’ve been eating eggs and oatmeal for breakfast for quite some time and I notice the difference when I eat a hearty breakfast vs. eating a skimpy one.  Lots of people say that they skip breakfast…don’t do it! You’ll end up starting your day on the wrong foot.

Here’s my recipe for a crustless egg frittata. Note: I just eyeball things because I’m too lazy to measure the ingredients.

Ingredients

  • Eggs
  • Egg whites (I buy the kind in a carton)
  • Veggies (spinach,  frozen mixed veggies, green/red bell peppers, etc. Just don’t use anything watery like tomatoes)
  • Seasoning – whatever you like. I use Mrs. Dash, basil, cilantro, green onions, pepper, etc.  Avoid using salt (I’ll explain why later).

Optional:

  • Cheese (I use soy cheese or low fat cheese)
  • Meat (try the homemade sausage, boil some turkey bacon to reduce the sodium, etc.)

Directions

  1. In a lightly greased 8×8 square glass pan, crack 4 eggs and mix it in. I use a spray like Pam to grease the pan.
  2. Add some veggies and the meat
  3. Pour some egg whites until it’s 2/3 full
  4. Put some cheese on top
  5. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes.

The frittata will come out puffy like the picture, but when it cools down, it’ll flatten.

Add some guacamole and/or salsa for added sodium. You can also add some plain Greek yogurt or low sodium cottage cheese to make it creamy.

