Having My Life Back (3 Month Update)

It’s been 3 months since my surgery and things are still going pretty well.

Here are some things that I still notice about my body:

  • I still can’t jump or do anything that stretches my ab area without feeling sore the next day
  • I still can’t wear jeans without feeling sore the next day, but the soreness is a lot better than before.
  • I still can’t do ab exercises like mountain climbers.
  • I CAN do some yoga now as long as I don’t jerk back and stretch my abs really fast
  • I CAN hold my body in a plank position without my lower abs (around the incision) feeling loose.
  • I’m gradually getting feeling back into the area around my incision. Before, it was still numb.

I’ve been fortunate to not have “swelly belly” as some other women say that they have because I know that when my body feels funny in a “what are you doing to me?!” way, I slow down and take it easy.  Plus, I try to drink lots of water and eat healthy food with limited sugar and sodium.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve eaten a whole bag of chips and salsa, but then I can totally feel it the next day!

My scar is still quite prominent. The scar is dark purple, but I hope it’ll fade soon. However, it’s not like I’ll be walking around with no clothes on, but still…it’d be nice to NOT see the scar there because then I’d feel completely healed 🙂

I was also able to take my first long-distance trip post-op and for the first time, I didn’t have to look at the calendar to see if my period was coming!  I was able to pack the right amount of underwear that I needed without wondering if I’d have an emergency and didn’t have to pack my supplies (a box of ultra tampons, a box of super pads, a full supply of 2 types of pills). Plus, I didn’t have to worry about whether or not I got stuck with an aisle seat in the airplane.  You know, traveling on heavy flow days. feeling “the gush” and then having to walk over 2 people to get to the tiny bathroom before having an emergency. It was so GREAT not having to worry about ANY of that!

This really was one of the best things I’ve ever done and, even though the first 3-4 weeks post-op was very difficult, it was SO worth it.  Like my doctor said, I have my life back!

