Massaging My Scar at 7-1/2 months

Note: Your results may vary, but I’m just writing about what happened to me when I massaged my scar for a week.

My friend suggested that I massage my scar daily to loosen the tissue,  and I tried to do for a week or so….BAD IDEA! My scar is sore again – much like how it was at around 6-8 weeks where I’d feel a slight soreness while I simply walked.

I didn’t press my scar too hard. I just rolled my fingers over it – much like one would be tapping on a keyboard – right before bedtime.  That’s all.

I didn’t start feeling any pain until 1-1/2 weeks after when I noticed that, combined with doing my elliptical machine, my scar was starting to feel sore – even when I walked.  One friend said that I should push through it and that it needs to loosen up, but I really don’t think so.  I was fine without massaging it.

The thing is that, when you have an abdominal hysterectomy, the external parts are healed, but it takes awhile for the internal parts to heal.  I looked up some images of what an abdominal hysterectomy operation looks like (Note: this is NOT for the squeamish) and it’s a VERY invasive surgery so it absolutely makes sense why some women say that it’ll take 6-12 months to feel like they’ve fully recovered. Basically, an abdominal hysterectomy is considered an “open surgery”.

So, I’m going to rest for 3 days with a hot compress and just do what I’ve been doing before the massage.  I figure that doing yoga and my exercises are loosening it up just fine without that extra massage touch.

See Update on Scar Pain

